Maharashtra, Lok Sabha elections, MumbaiMaharashtra Votes
Share If You Like The Article

Maharashtra takes center stage as 13 constituencies, including six significant seats in Mumbai, prepare to cast their votes on Monday in the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2024.

This phase marks the culmination of the polling process in the state, conducted over five phases spanning from April 19 to May 20, with vote counting scheduled for June 4.

As polling day approaches, schools, colleges, and banks will remain closed in the participating parliamentary constituencies. Liquor shops will also be shuttered in key areas like Mumbai, Palghar, Kalyan, and Thane as per Election Commission directives to maintain a fair and peaceful voting atmosphere.

In Mumbai, bars and wine shops will reopen at 5 PM on May 20, aligning with election day. Another dry day will be observed on June 4 during the vote-counting process until results are announced.

Furthermore, the Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) and National Stock Exchange (NSE) will be closed on May 20 due to voting activities, marking the second holiday related to elections in the month, particularly significant as all six Mumbai seats are up for voting in this phase.

The constituencies participating in this phase include Baramati, Raigad, Dharashiv, Latur, Solapur, Madha, Sangli, Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg, Kolhapur, and Hatkanangle.

With its 48 Lok Sabha seats, Maharashtra ranks as the second-largest contributor to the lower house of Parliament, after Uttar Pradesh. Renowned for its political diversity and substantial electoral influence, the state plays a pivotal role in shaping the national political landscape.

Share If You Like The Article